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Response and Testimony of Chief Deputy Commissioner Joel Laucher of the California 

Department of Insurance to a request for information and testimony regarding homeowners 

insurance by the Little Hoover Commission – Hearing slated for April 27, 2017 

The Commission requests the following information: 

An explanation of how the homeowners’ insurance market works in California. By what 

requirements and guidelines must insurers abide? What role does the Department of 

Insurance play in regulating them? The comparison with auto insurance might be particularly 

helpful for Commissioners less familiar with the insurance industry in understanding why 

auto insurers can be required to offer a quote for individuals who meet a good driver 

definition, yet insurers are not required to offer a quote to homeowners who create 

defensible space on their property. 

The California homeowners’ market of admitted insurers overall can be considered a stable, 

competitive, and vibrant market. Insurers participate in the market on a completely voluntary 

basis and each sets its own eligibility requirements for coverage and the coverage options it 

chooses to make available.  There are statutes that set baselines for a California Standard Form 

Fire Insurance Policy but general practice and case law have created a great deal of the policy 

language in existing homeowners policies that are offered today. An insurer is free to amend 

the requirements and coverage options at any point in time – more on that point will follow. 

There are currently about 90 active admitted insurers including 50 insurers that write at least 

$20 million dollars in premium annually.  In 2015, homeowner’s insurers wrote $7.4 billion in 

premium and had a loss ratio of 58.36%.  However, despite this generally favorable situation, 

the Department of Insurance is very aware that many consumers are having availability issues 

in the current homeowner’s insurance marketplace.   

Note:  Exhibit 1 is provided at the end of this document listing the statutes and regulations that 

are most relevant to homeowners underwriting. These same requirements apply to most 

property-casualty coverages. 

Rates and Rating Plans 

The key restrictions on rates for admitted insurers are that they cannot be excessive, 

inadequate or unfairly discriminatory and that they must be approved by the Department of 

Insurance prior to use.  The central component of ratemaking for most coverages is an 

evaluation of the individual insurer’s actual loss experience to determine the appropriate rates 

to be charged to policyholders. Homeowners rates follow that principle, they are formulated 

based an evaluation of past losses which leads to a projection of the expected losses for the 

upcoming period and then, in accordance with California’s regulatory structure,  a catastrophe 

loading is added and there is also a loading for expenses and a small profit loading. The 
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catastrophe loading is a rating adjustment based upon the insurer’s own catastrophe loss 

experience averaged over at least a 20 year period.  The expense loading is based on an 

industry average for the line of business and type of marketing system and the profit loading is 

set forth in regulation - currently just under 8%. 

I will dig a little deeper to explain the rating plan – or how the insurer determines the premium 

for each individual insured.  A homeowners’ insurer’s rating plan applies a series of factors to a 

common base premium amount. We can refer to those factors as discounts or surcharges. Each 

surcharge or discount is related to a specific risk characteristic such as the age of the home or 

the public protection class or the type of roof, as examples. So a premium calculation looks 

something like this (albeit with many additional factors): 

$100 base premium x 1.20 wood shingle roof surcharge x .90 alarm discount =  premium charged 

Whether the factor is a surcharge or a discount and how much of a surcharge or discount is 

applied is determined based on the loss experience for the collective group of insureds that 

shared that risk characteristic.  For example, if the insurer has a 20% surcharge for a home with 

a wood shingle roof as a component of the rating plan, that surcharge must be supported by 

loss experience that shows that homes with wood shingle roofs suffered 20% higher losses than 

homes with other roof types. This same requirement applies for every component of an 

insurer’s rating plan including age of the home, public protection class, construction type, alarm 

or sprinkler system, loss history, and wildfire model score.  The insurer must provide loss data 

that supports every credit and every surcharge in its rating plan.  By validating each factor 

based on loss experience data, the insurer proves that its rating plan is not unfairly 

discriminatory and not excessive. Beyond that, the Department has no authority to dictate 

which rating factors an insurer may choose to include in its rating plan.  

Underwriting 

The Department’s authority over the insurer’s specific underwriting guidelines are limited. The 

requirement that guidelines not be unfairly discriminatory does apply.  And, as noted in 

regulation (CCR Section 2360), insurers must only use underwriting guidelines that have a 

substantial relationship to loss exposure.  Beyond verifying that an insurer’s guidelines meet 

these standards, the Department of Insurance has not been provided with statutory authority 

by the legislature to dictate which risk measurements an insurer must use or cannot use with 

the exception enforcing certain civil right protections that include restrictions on use of race or 

religion in underwriting.  An insurer can choose to write only homes that are 25 years old or 

less in protection classes 1-4, as an example.  It could choose to write only homes under 

$1,000,000 in value or only homes with metal roofs.  An insurer can choose to write only homes 

that are on flat ground, within 500 feet of a fire hydrant, and within 1 mile of a fire station.  All 
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of these guidelines would be accepted as having a relationship to the potential loss exposure. 

Further, an insurer can change its guidelines at any point in time.  While it couldn’t then cancel 

risks in mid-policy term, it can non-renew at policy expiration risks that don’t meet the updated 

guidelines.  The insurer would be required to file for a rate change if the proposed updates to 

its eligibility requirements will change its potential loss exposure thus impacting the rates that 

should be charged. 

The Department’s Rate Regulation Branch conducts a review of insurers’ rates through the prior 

approval process.  That process is open to participation by consumer advocacy groups who 

frequently intervene in the process, particularly in personal lines rate applications, to object to 

the proposed rate changes.  Insurers are limited to applying only the final approved rates.  The 

Department’s Market Conduct Division conducts audits wherein it samples actual policy files 

from insurers to determine that the underwriting process has been applied fairly and 

consistently and that the approved rates have been charged appropriately.  

Personal Auto – a Comparison 

In response to the request that I contrast the legal restrictions or prescriptions on insurers 

applicable to homeowners’ coverage with the restrictions that apply to personal auto coverage, 

I offer the following: 

The paucity of detailed legal restrictions or prescription on insurers writing homeowners 

coverage contrasts quite directly with the laws that apply to personal auto. For personal auto, 

the statutes and regulations are quite prescriptive, an insurer must offer coverage to every 

driver who meets the statutory “good driver” definition regardless of where that person lives in 

this state or what kind of car that person drives. Therefore, in personal auto underwriting, the 

Department of Insurance can take action against any insurer that doesn’t fulfill what is 

commonly referred to as a “take all comers” requirement. For personal auto, each of the 

required and allowable rating factors is also specified in statute and regulation.  The 

Department can take action against an insurer that uses any factor not included among those 

stated in law.  As noted, Homeowners eligibility guidelines and rating factors are not dictated 

by law. There is no “good homeowner” ”take all comers” requirement that provides a profile of 

a responsible homeowner to whom insurers must offer coverage. Homeowner’s insurers are 

free to determine the type of risk they are willing to write and choose the rating factors that 

they believe are most effective in setting the appropriate premium. 

We at the Department of Insurance understand that homeowners’ coverage is becoming 

difficult to find in certain areas. We want to do what we can to help address that situation.  We 

have been entreating with insurers to expand their underwriting considerations so as to give an 

opportunity for those homeowners who have taken the responsibility to mitigate their risk can 
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be evaluated for acceptance for coverage. But the Department does not have the authority to 

require an insurer to write homes that present a higher risk than the insurer chooses to write.  

The California Legislature has not given us that authority. The Department’s authority comes 

directly and only from the laws that are in effect for us to enforce. 

 

An explanation of how newer risk models have allowed for greater segmentation of risk, and 

the impact that might be having on people who live in higher-risk areas. 

As noted, to be compliant with the law, homeowners underwriting/eligibility guidelines and 

rating factors must be based on risk characteristics about the home or the homeowner that 

have a substantial relationship to the insured’s loss exposure.  Traditionally, those 

considerations have included the age of the home, how recently the 

plumbing/electrical/heating system/roof have been updated or replaced, whether the dwelling 

structure and the premises are well maintained, the territory or zip code location, and the 

public protection class of the fire department of the community.  Public protection class as both 

an eligibility standard and a rating factor comes up frequently because it served as the primary 

measurement of the location’s exposure to fire risk before the implementation of wildfire 

models.  The Public Protection Classification (PPC) grade is developed according to the Fire 

Suppression Rating Schedule (FSRS) which measures the major elements of a community’s fire 

protection system. PPC evaluates a community’s overall capability to prevent and suppress 

structure fires, not specifically wildfires. In evaluating a specific fire district, emergency 

communication systems, the fire department capabilities, water supply, and a community’s 

efforts such as fire prevention code adoption and enforcement, public fire safety education, 

and fire investigation are all evaluated. 

With this background in mind, the Department of Forestry (DOF) stations are generally not 

recognized because they are set up for wildfire issues, not structure fires.  Since the trucks in 

the DOF stations aren’t set up for structure fires they aren’t creditable via the FSRS in the 

development of the PPC.  There may be one or two exceptions but for the majority of them, 

they aren’t recognized. 

The Cal Fire stations however are a little different.  Each station is designed or rated as a 

Schedule A or Schedule B.  The Schedule A stations are often staffed full time and generally 

recognized via the FSRS.  The Schedule B stations; however, are seasonal and therefore are 

typically not recognized. Additional common considerations are the loss history of the insured 

and of the insured location, distance from brush, age of the insured, and clearance of brush.    

With the advent of the FireLine and Corelogic models (and similar insurer-specific models), the 

focus has moved to include evaluation of density and type of brush in the vicinity of the home, 
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access to the home (which considers how far away from the crossroad a home on a dead end 

road is located), slope (wherein a home on a slope of over 20% is considered “steep” in the 

FireLine model, as an example) and other similar variables.  The purpose of these tools is to 

create an objective, gradated distinction between the levels of fire exposure for each home. 

More on that point, any area where the firefighting response may be relatively slower, where 

fire can spread more quickly or where the fuel loading is such that multiple dwellings may burn 

in a single event presents a relatively higher severity exposure for the insurer. These models 

allow insurers to utilize a scaled potential risk of loss evaluation that is relevant to establishing 

cut off points for eligibility for coverage and, in certain models, increasing rate levels. Of 

particular appeal to insurers is the fact that these tools reduce the need to have an individual 

physically inspect the property.  Other measures of risk, such as clearance of brush or the level 

of maintenance of the property, require repeated inspection or evaluation in order to appraise 

the current conditions at the property at each renewal.  The tools also allow for consistency in 

the underwriting process.  It is also easier for insurers to avoid adverse selection by employing 

similar risk evaluation tools as their competitors -- which is another explanation for why the use 

of the evaluation tools proliferated so quickly across the homeowner’s market. 

 

An overview of the FAIR Plan: How it originated, which insurers are part of it, what it covers 

and does not cover, and the option for homeowners to buy difference-in-conditions 

coverage. Please explain why there is not an availability problem with the FAIR Plan. Please 

outline recent actions to raise awareness and accessibility to the FAIR Plan. 

 

Background and History of FAIR Plan (Fair Access to Insurance Requirements)  The FAIR Plan 
was created by the Legislature’s enactment in 1968 of California Insurance Code (CIC) Section 
10090 et seq, as a result of brush fires and riots of the 1960’s which made it difficult for some 
property owners in the inner city and in high risk brush areas to purchase fire insurance through 
the traditional homeowners’ insurance market.  FAIR Plan was designed as an insurance 
placement facility under state law to make property insurance more readily available.  In 
accordance with CIC Section 10100.2, rates shall be “actuarially sound”, meaning they shall be 
set (based on loss experience) so as to cover expected losses and expenses. 
 
The FAIR plan is a “syndicate association” formed by all insurance companies licensed to write 
property insurance in California.  FAIR Plan operates much like an insurance company and is 
regulated in a similar fashion by the California Department of Insurance (CDI) under the 
direction of the Insurance Commissioner.  However, unlike traditional insurers such as stock, 
mutual, or reciprocal insurers, the FAIR Plan owns no assets and owes no liabilities. All insurers 
that sell property insurance in California must participate in the writings, expenses, profits and 
losses of the FAIR Plan in the proportion that its premiums written two years earlier bear to the 
aggregate premium written by all insurers in the program.  The FAIR Plan operates under a Plan 
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of Operation approved by the Insurance Commissioner. FAIR Plan issues insurance policies on 
behalf of its participating insurers, and each such insurer is considered a direct insurer for its 
share of such writings.   
 
Up until 2001, FAIR Plan insurance coverage was generally available in specifically designated 
urban, inner city, and brush fire areas in California.  Other specific areas were also eligible for 
FAIR Plan coverage if, after diligent effort (evidenced by written rejections from three insurers), 
the person wishing to insure the property has been unable to obtain insurance through the 
normal insurance market.  In 2001, after receiving complaints from the public regarding 
availability in certain areas, and after a Senate Insurance Committee investigatory hearing on 
the same subject, Commissioner Harry Low expanded the eligible areas for FAIR Plan statewide, 
as long as the applicant was rejected by 3 insurers (recently changed as noted below).   
 
The great majority of the dwelling policies currently written by the FAIR Plan (approximately 
96,000) are located in urban inner city areas.  Most of the rest (approximately 28,000) are in 
areas in the state subject to high risk of wildfires (mostly contained in Fire Hazard Severity 
Zones identified by CALFIRE).  The chart below shows that there has been a slight decline in the 
urban risks and slight growth in the high and extreme wildfire exposed homes written by the 
FAIR plan over the last year plus: 
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Explain why there is not an availability problem with the FAIR Plan  
 
The Fair Plan is required to accept coverage for all risks unless the property does not meet 
reasonable underwriting standards.  Reasonable underwriting standards shall include, but not 
be limited to, the following: 

1. physical condition of the property, such as its construction, heating, 
wiring, evidence of previous fires or general deterioration; 
2. its present use or housekeeping, such as vacancy, overcrowding, storage 
of rubbish or flammable materials; or 
3. other specific characteristics of ownership, condition, occupancy, or 
maintenance which are violative of public policy and result in unreasonable exposures 
to loss. 

 
Note:  Neighborhood or area location or any hazard beyond the control of the property owner 
shall not be deemed to be acceptable criteria for declining a risk. 
 
The FAIR Plan’s rates, similar to admitted insurers, are based upon the loss experience of the 
FAIR Plan and are reviewed and approved by the Department of Insurance. 
 
Process to Obtain Coverage through FAIR Plan:  If a consumer is turned down or non-renewed 
by their current fire or homeowners’ insurer, or is otherwise in need of coverage, he or she may 
apply for coverage under the FAIR Plan via any insurance broker or agent licensed to sell 
property insurance in this state.   Also, an applicant may contact FAIR Plan directly to obtain 
coverage (without the need for a broker or agent).  CIC Section 10095.5 requires FAIR Plan to 
establish and maintain a toll free number and requires every agent or broker to assist persons 
in applying for FAIR Plan coverage or to refer the person directly to FAIR Plan.    
 
10095.5.  (a) The association shall establish and maintain a 
statewide toll-free "800" number through which persons may receive 
assistance in applying for insurance through the plan. The 
association shall cause the number to be published in all general 
distribution telephone directories in California. 
 
   (b) Every insurance agent or broker transacting basic property 
insurance shall either assist persons in making application for 
insurance through the plan or provide persons who desire that 
insurance with the toll-free number established pursuant to 
subdivision (a). 
 
Further, insurers are also required to advise applicants who are declined coverage of the Fair 
Plan: 
10095 (h) Every insurer member of the plan shall provide to applicants 
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who are denied coverage the statewide toll-free "800" number for the 
plan established pursuant to Section 10095.5 for the purpose of 
obtaining information and assistance in obtaining basic property 
insurance. 
 
 
What the Fair Plan Policy Provides:  The FAIR Plan offers basic property insurance for 
residential and certain commercial risks.  The policy covers both the structure and contents for 
limited perils as defined in the Standard Fire Policy for extended coverage, and for vandalism 
and malicious mischief.  In 1993, FAIR Plan started offering a Business Owner Policy (BOP), 
which provides coverage for fire, liability, and business income/extra expense for eligible 
commercial risks.  Optional coverage such as earthquake insurance (offered through the 
California Earthquake Authority [CEA]), replacement cost coverage, building code upgrade 
endorsement, etc., are also available to the consumer.  The following link to the FAIR Plan 
website provides an excellent comparison of FAIR Plan coverage with a standard homeowner’s 
policy: 
 
https://www.cfpnet.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/ComparisonChart03012017REV.pdf 
 
For Dwelling Fire Policies, the maximum policy limit is $1.5 million in total for dwelling, 
contents, other structures and Building Code Upgrade coverage. 
 
Since the FAIR Plan policy does not cover all the perils insured under a traditional homeowners’ 
insurance policy and does not provide liability insurance coverage, there are times when a FAIR 
Plan insured will purchase an additional insurance policy in addition to the FAIR Plan policy. This 
is typically either an “Excess” or “Differences in Conditions” policy. The existence of those types 
of policies does not impact the coverage provided under the FAIR Plan Dwelling policy. 
 
For Commercial Fire policies, the limits are: 
 

(a) Buildings: The maximum. limit is $3 million. 
(b) Personal Property: The maximum limit is $1.5 million. 
(c) Personal Property of tenants: The maximum limit is $1.5 million, however 

(1) If the building is protected by a 24 -hour guard service on the premises, 
contents coverage may be written up to $5 million. 
(2) If the building is protected by an automatic sprinkler system, approved by 
ISO, and a 24 -hour guard service on the premises, content coverage up to $10 
million may be written. 
(3) Coverage in excess of these amounts must be referred to the Governing 
Committee for approval. 

 
For BOP (Business Owner Policy) policies, the limits are as follows (these limits are also 
explained in the 1994 Plan of Operation): 

A. Building Coverage:  $2 million. 

https://www.cfpnet.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/ComparisonChart03012017REV.pdf
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B. Personal Property Coverage: $1 million. 
C. Liability: $300,000 per occurrence with a $600,000 aggregate limit. 

 
 
Describe recent actions to raise awareness and accessibility to the FAIR Plan 
 
The Department of Insurance has taken several steps to make access to the Fair Plan more 
visible to consumers.  A list of recent enhancements follows. It should also be noted that the 
management team at the FAIR Plan is continuously engaged in providing clarity about its 
coverages and rates. 
 
Recent  FAIR Plan Improvements Include: 
 
A.  In recognizing the lesser coverage under Fair Plan, Commissioner Jones Issued an Order in 
January of 2016:   
 

1.  Enhanced FAIR Plan Coverage to include (1) Optional Replacement Cost coverage for 
Contents and (2) Debris Removal as a new Optional Coverage.   
 
2.  Required FAIR Plan to add (Free) Replacement Cost Coverage to all Eligible FAIR Plan 
Policies:  FAIR Plan to add Replacement Cost to renewals of those who have inflation 
guard (if the structure is less than 25 years old).     
 
3.  Created a Searchable Database of Registered Brokers:  FAIR Plan was directed to 
create a searchable database of FAIR Plan registered brokers for consumers on FAIR 
Plan’s web site.  CDI licenses more than 90,000 property insurance producers that are 
California residents.  Before the Order, only 6,600 brokers were registered with FAIR 
Plan. Since the order, several thousand more have registered with FAIR Plan.  Now, the 
web site has an easy-to-use tool that identifies and maps out all the registered brokers 
near a given city or Zip Code.   
 
4. Removed 3-Declination Rule: Before Order, if not in designated urban and brush 
areas, the applicant must get 3 declinations from admitted insurers in order to apply for 
FAIR Plan coverage.  Commissioner believed that the 3-declination rule created an 
artificial barrier to access to the FAIR plan coverage.   
 

B. Notices to Producers to Assist Homeowners in finding insurance and how to register with 
FAIR Plan:   
 

1.  October 19, 2015 Notice 
On October 19, 2015, CDI sent a notice (via mass email) to all producers licensed to 
transact homeowner’s insurance. The notice reminded producers of their responsibility 
to help consumers purchase property insurance, particularly when consumers are 
finding coverage difficult to obtain. The notice explained that when applicable, 
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producers should assist consumers with finding and applying for homeowners insurance 
through the FAIR Plan. Information on how to become a registered FAIR Plan agent was 
also included in the notice.  
 
 2.  February 3, 2016 Notice 
The CDI issued a second Notice, (via email and posted on CDI website) encouraging all 
producers to register with FAIR Plan.  
 

C.   Commissioner Jones also Sponsored Legislation in 2016 (SB 1302 authored by Senator 
McGuire) to Improve Access to and Awareness of FAIR Plan: 
 

1. Broaden Requirements on Insurers to Notify Cancelled and Non-Renewed 
Policyholders of the FAIR Plan:  Includes info on the toll-free telephone number and 
FAIR Plan’s website.  
 
2.  Mandated all Qualified Brokers to Provide Greater Assistant to Applicants in applying 
for FAIR Plan:    

 
Other Actions Taken by CDI on Availability of Homeowners’ Insurance 
 
A.  Greater Consumer Awareness of insurers that sell Homeowners’ coverage:  CDI’s website 
provides several informational guides, tips and tools to assist consumers in understanding 
homeowners’ insurance and provides various sources for comparing coverages, prices, and 
identifies all the insurers who write HO in the state.  The point here is that consumers should 
not limit themselves to one agent or broker or to only the most popular insurance companies.  
There may be other smaller insurance companies that will write the coverage.   
 
B.  Email to Public Officials:  In November 2015, CDI sent an email (From Chris Shultz) to 
assembly members and senators and county officials (sheriff, police, fire chiefs, board of 
supervisors, and chief admin officer) in high risk counties: Alameda, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, 
Contra Costa, El Dorado, Lake, Los Angeles, Nevada, Orange, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, San 
Bernardino, San Diego, Shasta, Siskiyou, Trinity, Tuolumne, and Ventura. That email  provided 
information on shopping for insurance and a draft web page they could post on their public 
sites for constituents.   
 
C.  Greater Awareness of Difference in Condition (DIC) Coverage and encourage more Insurers 
to write DIC:  As noted, DIC coverage is purchased to cover the perils not covered by FAIR Plan, 
such as liability, theft, and certain water damage.  CDI has posted a list of insurers that offer DIC 
coverage on CDI’s website and had this link added to the top of the FAIR Plan’s website. 
 
Additional Information on Shopping for Property Insurance:  As the insurer of last resort, the 
FAIR Plan should only be considered after a diligent search for coverage in the traditional 
insurance market.  The California Department of Insurance (CDI) public web site 
(www.insurance.ca.gov) has several informational guides, tips and tools to assist consumers in 

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/
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understanding homeowners’ insurance and how to shop for the best product and at the best 
price to meet their needs.  The link below takes you to the main Home/Residential Insurance 
web page where all this information is contained.   
 
https://www.insurance.ca.gov/01-consumers/105-type/5-residential/index.cfm 
 
Here, a consumer may obtain informational guides on residential insurance, compare 
premiums and coverage among various insurers, obtain contact information for all insurers 
writing homeowners’ insurance in this state, and check a company’s complaint record and 
profile. 
 
Lastly, consumers are free to contact CDI’s toll-free call center at (800) 927-4357 where we 
have attendants with insurance experience ready to assist with any questions on all aspects of 
insurance.   
 

Provide a discussion of the department’s investigation into allegations of exceptionally 

expensive FAIR Plan rates and what it found. 

It is difficult to judge what is considered “exceptionally expensive”.   Certainly the 

implementation of wildfire surcharges has increased the rates, sometimes dramatically, for 

those whose homes have been identified as higher exposure while lowering the rates for those 

at lower exposure levels. Introducing this new paradigm has created a very difficult situation for 

those in mountain communities. Before the introduction of this technological “segmentation” 

of rates, the range of rates that was applied to dwelling structures was undoubtedly narrower, 

meaning there was less difference between the highest rates and the lowest rates.  Again, all 

surcharges or discounts are based upon the loss experience of the FAIR Plan. 

 
See premium cost examples in the table below. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.insurance.ca.gov/01-consumers/105-type/5-residential/index.cfm
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Examples of the Pricing of FAIR Plan Coverage :  We obtained quotes from FAIR Plan and DIC 
insurers based upon a selection of specific addresses but assuming a $430,000 Dwelling Value 
(DV) and a FireLine Score of 15, Assumptions:  Composite Roof, Owner Occupied, Single Family 
Dwelling.  We then obtained quotes for DIC Coverage from up to 4 insurers that would 
currently write DIC for these properties.  
 
 
FAIR Plan and DIC Coverage Quotes: DV $430,000 and FireLine Score of 15 
 
County: Address FAIR Plan 

Premium: 
ACV  

FAIR PLAN 
Premium: 
Replacement 
Cost (RC) 

Range of DIC 
Premium 
Quotes for RC 
Coverage 

Combined 
FAIR Plan RC 
and Lowest 
DIC Quotes 

Alpine County:   
Markleeville, CA 96120 

 

$1,732 $2,316 $836 – $1,320 $3,152 

Calaveras County:  
Mountain Ranch, CA 
95246 
 

$1,717 $2,298 $828 - $1,310 $3,126 

El Dorado County:  
Placerville, CA 95667 
 

$1,717 $2,298 $836 - $1,320 $3,134 

Placer County:  
Foresthill, CA 95631 
 

$1,686 $2,256 $836 - $1,310 $3,092 

Lake County:   
Cobb, CA 95426 
 

$1,701 $2,276 $836 – $1,027 $3,112 

Mariposa County:  
Midpines, CA 95345 
 

$1,717 $2,298 $841 - $1,310 $3,139 

San Bernardino County:  
Lake Arrowhead, CA 
92352  
 

$1,582 $2,115 $964 - $1,580 $3,079 

Tuolumne County: 
Twain Hart, CA 95383 
 

$1,701 $2,276 $841 - $1,310 $3,117 
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An overview of solutions that have been proposed to make homeowners insurance more 

affordable for residents in higher-risk areas in the Sierra Nevada. Please include a discussion 

of the draft legislative language requiring insurers to provide a quote for homeowners who 

meet a certain set of standards with their property. It also would be helpful to share the 

Boulder County, Colorado, model of the county-insurer partnership. 

Just to be clear, affordability itself is not directly addressed through any existing insurance 

delivery structure for homeowners insurance no matter where the dwelling is located.  The cost 

of homeowners insurance is based upon loss experience and homes that present characteristics 

that have proven to have relatively higher losses are charged higher premiums.  As noted in the 

FAIR Plan discussion, that program charges rates based on loss experience without 

consideration for the affordability of coverage.  Its mission is to ensure availability, not 

affordability.   

However, one possibility that could be created in the current admitted marketplace, either 

through voluntary insurer participation or through a legislative mandate, would directly address 

availability but could affect relative affordability as well.  That is an agreement or mandate that 

insurers incorporate allowance in their eligibility criteria to provide offers of coverage to 

homeowners that meet a prescribed list of fire risk mitigation standards.  This might include 

specified clearance requirements as well as specified roofing materials, detailed requirements 

for mitigation of any openings in the structure as well as any contact points for abutting decks 

and fences, and general maintenance of the structure and the property.  If these mitigation 

efforts have the intended effect, homes that have taken the mitigation steps would have better 

loss experience than those homes where mitigation was not taken. Better loss experience 

would mean relatively lower rates. This approach, on a voluntary basis, of insurer participation 

in writing homes with mitigated risk is akin to what is taking place in Boulder County, Colorado 

(reference Exhibits 2 and 3). In that case, a government subsidy is helping to fund the 

development of the qualification standards and the inspection process (which also requires a 

fee paid by the homeowners).  The homeowners also are paying the mitigation costs to bring 

their properties into a certified status for eligibility. 

Another option is to create of an assigned risk plan for homeowners’ coverage that is similar to 

the personal auto assigned risk plan.  Homes rejected for coverage in the open market would 

be assigned to those insurers who are participating in the market in proportion to the insurers 

amount of coverage written.  This assignment process could prove more difficult for 

homeowner’s coverage because the auto plan has restrictive liability limits ($15,000 bodily 

injury per person, $30,000 per accident and $5,000 in property damage liability) that cap the 

insurer’s exposure on each policy while homeowners’ limits vary widely based on the 

replacement cost to rebuild the home. However, one principle advantage would be to enable 
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the consumer to have full coverage on a single policy.  This could also be achieved through a 

third option, expanding the coverages offered through the FAIR Plan – particularly by adding 

liability coverage. 

 

Any other information that would be helpful for the Commission to have when evaluating 

testimony and recommendations about increasing affordability and accessibility of insurance 

in higher-risk areas of the Sierra Nevada. 

While insurance is the focal point at this time, there are a number of considerations that are relevant to 

this situation.  These include evaluation of how the approval/permitting process for development in a 

given city or county is governed, how building codes play into the risk, what level of public resources and 

infrastructure are required to protect the structures, and what local requirements are in place to 

evaluate or enforce mitigation by the landowner. There may be many others.   

Dwellings that present extreme risk are going to have high insurance costs – the only way to address 

affordability of coverage for those risks would be either income based government subsidies such as 

currently exist in health insurance or impose limitations on the rating factors such that other risks with 

lower exposures would pay a little more in order to offset higher risk homes paying less. Given the high 

number of urban and suburban homes with lower risk versus the relatively few homes with extreme 

risk, that rate-driven cross-subsidy might be very little. One way to achieve this more limited range of 

premiums is, through legislation, to cap or restrict the rating factors insurers can use for homeowners 

coverage. 

Understandably, the cost or availability of insurance may not have been upmost in the minds of 

government officials or homebuyers in the past when approving permits to build or purchasing homes in 

wooded areas. But the losses from many wildfires over the last 25 years and the advent of these new 

risk models have changed the equation relative to the affordability of coverage in wildfire exposed 

regions.   
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EXHIBIT 1 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS ADDRESSING THE UNDERWRITING AND RATING OF  

HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE 

 

CALIFORNIA INSURANCE CODE 

  CIC § 678   Policy expiration; offer of renewal or notice of nonrenewal; application of section   

(a) At least 45 days prior to policy expiration, an insurer shall deliver to the named insured or mail to the 

named insured at the address shown in the policy, either of the following: 

(1) An offer of renewal of the policy contingent upon payment of premium as stated in the offer, stating 

each of the following: 

(A) Any reduction of limits or elimination of coverage. 

(B) The telephone number of the insurer’s representatives who handle consumer inquiries or 

complaints. The telephone number shall be displayed prominently in a font size consistent with the 

other text of the renewal offer. 

(2) A notice of nonrenewal of the policy. That notice shall contain each of the following: 

(A) The reason or reasons for the nonrenewal. 

(B) The telephone number of the insurer’s representatives who handle consumer inquiries or 

complaints. The telephone number shall be displayed prominently in a font size consistent with the 

other text of the notice of nonrenewal. 

(C) A brief statement indicating that if the consumer has contacted the insurer to discuss the 

nonrenewal and remains unsatisfied, he or she may have the matter reviewed by the department. The 

statement shall include the telephone number of the unit within the department that responds to 

consumer inquiries and complaints. 

(b) In the event an insurer fails to give the named insured either an offer of renewal or notice of 

nonrenewal as required by this section, the existing policy, with no change in its terms and conditions, 

shall remain in effect for 45 days from the date that either the offer to renew or the notice of 

nonrenewal is delivered or mailed to the named insured. A notice to this effect shall be provided by the 

insurer to the named insured with the policy or the notice of renewal or nonrenewal. 

(c) Any policy written for a term of less than one year shall be considered as if written for a term of one 

year. Any policy written for a term longer than one year, or any policy with no fixed expiration date, 

shall be considered as if written for successive policy periods or terms of one year. 
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(d) This section applies only to policies of insurance specified in Section 675. 

(e) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2019. 

 

CIC § 791.02 Definitions   

As used in this act: 

(a) (1) “Adverse underwriting decision” means any of the following actions with respect to insurance 

transactions involving insurance coverage that is individually underwritten: 

(A) A declination of insurance coverage. 

(B) A termination of insurance coverage. 

(C) Failure of an agent to apply for insurance coverage with a specific insurance institution that the 

agent represents and that is requested by an applicant. 

(D) In the case of a property or casualty insurance coverage: 

(i) Placement by an insurance institution or agent of a risk with a residual market mechanism, with an 

unauthorized insurer, or with an insurance institution that provides insurance to other than preferred or 

standard risks, if in fact the placement is at other than a preferred or standard rate. An adverse 

underwriting decision, in case of placement with an insurance institution that provides insurance to 

other than preferred or standard risks, shall not include placement if the applicant or insured did not 

specify or apply for placement as a preferred or standard risk or placement with a particular company 

insuring preferred or standard risks, or 

(ii) The charging of a higher rate on the basis of information which differs from that which the applicant 

or policyholder furnished. 

(E) In the case of a life, health, or disability insurance coverage, an offer to insure at higher than 

standard rates. 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), any of the following actions shall not be considered adverse 

underwriting decisions but the insurance institution or agent responsible for their occurrence shall 

nevertheless provide the applicant or policyholder with the specific reason or reasons for their 

occurrence: 

(A) The termination of an individual policy form on a class or statewide basis. 

(B) A declination of insurance coverage solely because coverage is not available on a class or statewide 

basis. 

(C) The rescission of a policy. 
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CIC § 791.10  Adverse Underwriting Decisions; declination, cancelation or nonrenewal of enumerated 

policies; specific reasons for decision.   

(a) In the event of an adverse underwriting decision the insurance institution or agent responsible for 

the decision shall: 

(1) Either provide the applicant, policyholder, or individual proposed for coverage with the specific 

reason or reasons for the adverse underwriting decision in writing or, except as provided in subdivision 

(e), advise the person that upon written request he or she may receive the specific reason or reasons in 

writing. 

(2) Provide the applicant, policyholder or individual proposed for coverage with a summary of the rights 

established under subdivision (b) and Sections 791.08 and 791.09. 

(b) Upon receipt of a written request within 90 business days from the date of the mailing of notice or 

other communication of an adverse underwriting decision to an applicant, policyholder or individual 

proposed for coverage, the insurance institution or agent shall furnish to such person within 21 business 

days from the date of receipt of such written request: 

(1) The specific reason or reasons for the adverse underwriting decision, in writing, if such information 

was not initially furnished in writing pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a). 

(2) The specific items of personal and privileged information that support those reasons; provided, 

however: 

(A) The insurance institution or agent shall not be required to furnish specific items of privileged 

information if it has a reasonable suspicion, based upon specific information available for review by the 

commissioner, that the applicant, policyholder or individual proposed for coverage has engaged in 

criminal activity, fraud, material misrepresentation or material nondisclosure. 

(B) Specific items of medical record information supplied by a medical care institution or medical 

professional shall be disclosed either directly to the individual about whom the information relates or to 

a medical professional designated by the individual and licensed to provide medical care with respect to 

the condition to which the information relates, whichever the individual prefers. 

Mental health record information shall be supplied directly to the individual, pursuant to this 

subdivision, only with the approval of the qualified professional person with treatment responsibility for 

the condition to which the information relates. 

(3) The names and addresses of the institutional sources that supplied the specific items of information 

given pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (b); provided, however, that the identity of any medical 

professional or medical care institution shall be disclosed either directly to the individual or to the 

designated medical professional, whichever the individual prefers. 
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(c) The obligations imposed by this section upon an insurance institution or agent may be satisfied by 

another insurance institution or agent authorized to act on its behalf. 

(d) When an adverse underwriting decision results solely from an oral request or inquiry, the 

explanation of reasons and summary of rights required by subdivision (a) or (e) may be given orally to 

the extent that such information is available. 

(e) Except as provided in subdivision (d), with respect to a declination, cancellation, or nonrenewal of a 

property insurance policy covered by Section 675 or an automobile insurance policy covered by Section 

660, or an individual life, health, or disability insurance policy, the insurance institution or agent 

responsible for the decision shall provide the specific reason or reasons in writing at the time of the 

decision. The communication of medical record information for a life or health insurance policy shall be 

subject to the disclosure requirements of subparagraph (B) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a). This 

subdivision shall become operative on July 1, 2006. 

CIC § 791.11   

No insurance institution, agent or insurance-support organization may seek information in connection 

with an insurance transaction concerning: 

(a) Any previous adverse underwriting decision experienced by an individual, or 

(b) Any previous insurance coverage obtained by an individual through a residual market mechanism, 

unless such inquiry also requests the reasons for any previous adverse underwriting decision or the 

reasons why insurance coverage was previously obtained through a residual market mechanism. 

(Added by Stats. 1980, Ch. 1214, Sec. 1. Section applicable October 1, 1981, pursuant to Section 791.01.) 

CIC § 791.12   

No insurance institution or agent may base an adverse underwriting decision in whole or in part on the 

following: 

(a) On the fact of a previous adverse underwriting decision or on the fact that an individual previously 

obtained insurance coverage through a residual market mechanism; provided, however, an insurance 

institution or agent may base an adverse underwriting decision on further information obtained from an 

insurance institution or agent responsible for a previous adverse underwriting decision. The further 

information, when requested, shall create a conclusive presumption that the information is necessary to 

perform the requesting insurer’s function in connection with an insurance transaction involving the 

individual and, when reasonably available, shall be furnished the requesting insurer and the individual, if 

applicable. 

(b) On personal information received from an insurance-support organization whose primary source of 

information is insurance institutions; provided, however, an insurance institution or agent may base an 
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adverse underwriting decision on further personal information obtained as the result of information 

received from an insurance-support organization. 

(c) On the fact that an individual has previously inquired and received information about the scope or 

nature of coverage under a residential fire or property insurance policy, if the information is received 

from an insurance-support organization whose primary source of information is insurance institutions 

and the inquiry did not result in the filing of a claim. 

(d) On the fact that an accident involving a peace officer, member of the Department of the California 

Highway Patrol, or firefighter has been reported and the insurer retains no liability pursuant to Section 

488.5 and subdivision (b) of Section 557.5. 

(Amended by Stats. 2012, Ch. 823, Sec. 3. Effective January 1, 2013.) 

 

CIC § 1861.01 Insurance Rate Rollback.   

(a) For any coverage for a policy for automobile and any other form of insurance subject to this chapter 

issued or renewed on or after November 8, 1988, every insurer shall reduce its charges to levels which 

are at least 20% less than the charges for the same coverage which were in effect on November 8, 1987. 

(b) Between November 8, 1988, and November 8, 1989, rates and premiums reduced pursuant to 

subdivision (a) may be only increased if the commissioner finds, after a hearing, that an insurer is 

substantially threatened with insolvency. 

(c) Commencing November 8, 1989, insurance rates subject to this chapter must be approved by the 

commissioner prior to their use. 

(d) For those who apply for an automobile insurance policy for the first time on or after November 8, 

1988, the rate shall be 20% less than the rate which was in effect on November 8, 1987, for similarly 

situated risks. 

(e) Any separate affiliate of an insurer, established on or after November 8, 1987, shall be subject to the 

provisions of this section and shall reduce its charges to levels which are at least 20% less than the 

insurer’s charges in effect on that date. 

CIC § 1861.05 Approval of Insurance Rates.   

(a) No rate shall be approved or remain in effect which is excessive, inadequate, unfairly discriminatory 

or otherwise in violation of this chapter. In considering whether a rate is excessive, inadequate or 

unfairly discriminatory, no consideration shall be given to the degree of competition and the 

commissioner shall consider whether the rate mathematically reflects the insurance company’s 

investment income. 
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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

Article 7.2. Objective Guidelines for Rating; Lowest Rates; Rates Charged by Insurers Which Are 

Members of a Group; Documentation; Upgrades. 

CCR § 2360.0. Definitions. 

As used in these sections: 

(a) An “Insurer Group” is any two or more insurers which exercise any authority granted in CIC Section 

1853.5. 

(b) “Eligibility Guidelines” are specific, objective factors, or categories of specific, objective factors, 

which are selected and/or defined by an insurer, and which have a substantial relationship to an 

insured's loss exposure. 

(c) The term “Premium” shall mean the final amount charged to an insured for insurance after applying 

all applicable rates, factors, modifiers, credits, debits, discounts, surcharges, fees charged by the insurer 

and all other items which change the amount the insurer charges to the insured. 

(d) A “Rating Plan” is any rating plan, rating system, or method, used by an insurer to develop a final rate 

or Premium. 

(e) An “Insurance Marketing System” is a method of producing or selling insurance. For purposes of this 

Article there are only three types of Insurance Marketing Systems: (1) marketing through exclusive or 

captive agents; (2) marketing through independent agents and brokers; and (3) direct marketing by an 

insurer or non-agent employee of an insurer. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1861.05, 12921, and 12926, Insurance Code. Reference: Sections 1857, 

1861.05, Insurance Code. 

CCR§ 2360.2. Eligibility Guidelines / Qualification for Insurance and Rating Plan. 

An insurer shall maintain eligibility guidelines for every line of insurance offered for sale to the public. 

The Eligibility Guidelines shall be sufficiently detailed to determine the appropriate rating plan for the 

insured. An insured or applicant who meets the eligibility guidelines shall qualify to purchase the 

insurance. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1861.05, 12921, and 12926, Insurance Code. Reference: Sections 1857, 

1861.05, 1861.135(a), 1861.137(b), 11588, 12120, 12122, and 12713, Insurance Code. 
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CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT CODE 

CGC § 51182 

 (a) A person who owns, leases, controls, operates, or maintains an occupied dwelling or occupied 

structure in, upon, or adjoining a mountainous area, forest-covered land, brush-covered land, grass-

covered land, or land that is covered with flammable material, which area or land is within a very high 

fire hazard severity zone designated by the local agency pursuant to Section 51179, shall at all times do 

all of the following: 

(1) Maintain defensible space of 100 feet from each side and from the front and rear of the structure, 

but not beyond the property line except as provided in paragraph (2). The amount of fuel modification 

necessary shall take into account the flammability of the structure as affected by building material, 

building standards, location, and type of vegetation. Fuels shall be maintained in a condition so that a 

wildfire burning under average weather conditions would be unlikely to ignite the structure. This 

paragraph does not apply to single specimens of trees or other vegetation that are well-pruned and 

maintained so as to effectively manage fuels and not form a means of rapidly transmitting fire from 

other nearby vegetation to a structure or from a structure to other nearby vegetation. The intensity of 

fuels management may vary within the 100-foot perimeter of the structure, the most intense being 

within the first 30 feet around the structure. Consistent with fuels management objectives, steps should 

be taken to minimize erosion. 

(2) A greater distance than that required under paragraph (1) may be required by state law, local 

ordinance, rule, or regulation. Clearance beyond the property line may only be required if the state law, 

local ordinance, rule, or regulation includes findings that the clearing is necessary to significantly reduce 

the risk of transmission of flame or heat sufficient to ignite the structure, and there is no other feasible 

mitigation measure possible to reduce the risk of ignition or spread of wildfire to the structure. 

Clearance on adjacent property shall only be conducted following written consent by the adjacent 

landowner. 

(3) An insurance company that insures an occupied dwelling or occupied structure may require a greater 

distance than that required under paragraph (1) if a fire expert, designated by the fire chief or fire 

official from the authority having jurisdiction, provides findings that the clearing is necessary to 

significantly reduce the risk of transmission of flame or heat sufficient to ignite the structure, and there 

is no other feasible mitigation measure possible to reduce the risk of ignition or spread of wildfire to the 

structure. The greater distance may not be beyond the property line unless allowed by state law, local 

ordinance, rule, or regulation. 

(4) Remove that portion of a tree that extends within 10 feet of the outlet of a chimney or stovepipe. 

(5) Maintain a tree, shrub, or other plant adjacent to or overhanging a building free of dead or dying 

wood. 
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(6) Maintain the roof of a structure free of leaves, needles, or other vegetative materials. 

(7) Prior to constructing a new dwelling or structure that will be occupied or rebuilding an occupied 

dwelling or occupied structure damaged by a fire in that zone, the construction or rebuilding of which 

requires a building permit, the owner shall obtain a certification from the local building official that the 

dwelling or structure, as proposed to be built, complies with all applicable state and local building 

standards, including those described in subdivision (b) of Section 51189, and shall provide a copy of the 

certification, upon request, to the insurer providing course of construction insurance coverage for the 

building or structure. Upon completion of the construction or rebuilding, the owner shall obtain from 

the local building official, a copy of the final inspection report that demonstrates that the dwelling or 

structure was constructed in compliance with all applicable state and local building standards, including 

those described in subdivision (b) of Section 51189, and shall provide a copy of the report, upon request, 

to the property insurance carrier that insures the dwelling or structure. 

(b) A person is not required under this section to manage fuels on land if that person does not have the 

legal right to manage fuels, nor is a person required to enter upon or to alter property that is owned by 

any other person without the consent of the owner of the property. 

(c) The Department of Forestry and Fire Protection shall develop, periodically update, and post on its 

Internet Web site a guidance document on fuels management pursuant to this chapter. Guidance shall 

include, but not be limited to, regionally appropriate vegetation management suggestions that preserve 

and restore native species, minimize erosion, minimize water consumption, and permit trees near 

homes for shade, aesthetics, and habitat; and suggestions to minimize or eliminate the risk of 

flammability of nonvegetative sources of combustion such as woodpiles, propane tanks, decks, and 

outdoor lawn furniture. 

(Amended by Stats. 2009, Ch. 208, Sec. 2. Effective January 1, 2010.) 

  

PUBLIC RESOURCES CODE 

PRC  § 4291 

 (a) A person who owns, leases, controls, operates, or maintains a building or structure in, upon, or 

adjoining a mountainous area, forest-covered lands, brush-covered lands, grass-covered lands, or land 

that is covered with flammable material, shall at all times do all of the following: 

(1) Maintain defensible space of 100 feet from each side and from the front and rear of the structure, 

but not beyond the property line except as provided in paragraph (2). The amount of fuel modification 

necessary shall take into account the flammability of the structure as affected by building material, 

building standards, location, and type of vegetation. Fuels shall be maintained in a condition so that a 

wildfire burning under average weather conditions would be unlikely to ignite the structure. This 

paragraph does not apply to single specimens of trees or other vegetation that are well-pruned and 

maintained so as to effectively manage fuels and not form a means of rapidly transmitting fire from 
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other nearby vegetation to a structure or from a structure to other nearby vegetation. The intensity of 

fuels management may vary within the 100-foot perimeter of the structure, the most intense being 

within the first 30 feet around the structure. Consistent with fuels management objectives, steps should 

be taken to minimize erosion. For the purposes of this paragraph, “fuel” means any combustible 

material, including petroleum-based products and wildland fuels. 

(2) A greater distance than that required under paragraph (1) may be required by state law, local 

ordinance, rule, or regulation. Clearance beyond the property line may only be required if the state law, 

local ordinance, rule, or regulation includes findings that the clearing is necessary to significantly reduce 

the risk of transmission of flame or heat sufficient to ignite the structure, and there is no other feasible 

mitigation measure possible to reduce the risk of ignition or spread of wildfire to the structure. 

Clearance on adjacent property shall only be conducted following written consent by the adjacent 

landowner. 

(3) An insurance company that insures an occupied dwelling or occupied structure may require a greater 

distance than that required under paragraph (1) if a fire expert, designated by the director, provides 

findings that the clearing is necessary to significantly reduce the risk of transmission of flame or heat 

sufficient to ignite the structure, and there is no other feasible mitigation measure possible to reduce 

the risk of ignition or spread of wildfire to the structure. The greater distance may not be beyond the 

property line unless allowed by state law, local ordinance, rule, or regulation. 

(4) Remove that portion of a tree that extends within 10 feet of the outlet of a chimney or stovepipe. 

(5) Maintain a tree, shrub, or other plant adjacent to or overhanging a building free of dead or dying 

wood. 

(6) Maintain the roof of a structure free of leaves, needles, or other vegetative materials. 

(7) Prior to constructing a new building or structure or rebuilding a building or structure damaged by a 

fire in an area subject to this section, the construction or rebuilding of which requires a building permit, 

the owner shall obtain a certification from the local building official that the dwelling or structure, as 

proposed to be built, complies with all applicable state and local building standards, including those 

described in subdivision (b) of Section 51189 of the Government Code, and shall provide a copy of the 

certification, upon request, to the insurer providing course of construction insurance coverage for the 

building or structure. Upon completion of the construction or rebuilding, the owner shall obtain from 

the local building official, a copy of the final inspection report that demonstrates that the dwelling or 

structure was constructed in compliance with all applicable state and local building standards, including 

those described in subdivision (b) of Section 51189 of the Government Code, and shall provide a copy of 

the report, upon request, to the property insurance carrier that insures the dwelling or structure. 

(b) A person is not required under this section to manage fuels on land if that person does not have the 

legal right to manage fuels, nor is a person required to enter upon or to alter property that is owned by 

any other person without the consent of the owner of the property. 
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(c) (1) Except as provided in Section 18930 of the Health and Safety Code, the director may adopt 

regulations exempting a structure with an exterior constructed entirely of nonflammable materials, or, 

conditioned upon the contents and composition of the structure, the director may vary the 

requirements respecting the removing or clearing away of flammable vegetation or other combustible 

growth with respect to the area surrounding those structures. 

(2) An exemption or variance under paragraph (1) shall not apply unless and until the occupant of the 

structure, or if there is not an occupant, the owner of the structure, files with the department, in a form 

as the director shall prescribe, a written consent to the inspection of the interior and contents of the 

structure to ascertain whether this section and the regulations adopted under this section are complied 

with at all times. 

(d) The director may authorize the removal of vegetation that is not consistent with the standards of this 

section. The director may prescribe a procedure for the removal of that vegetation and make the 

expense a lien upon the building, structure, or grounds, in the same manner that is applicable to a 

legislative body under Section 51186 of the Government Code. 

(e) The Department of Forestry and Fire Protection shall develop, periodically update, and post on its 

Internet Web site a guidance document on fuels management pursuant to this chapter. Guidance shall 

include, but not be limited to, regionally appropriate vegetation management suggestions that preserve 

and restore native species, minimize erosion, minimize water consumption, and permit trees near 

homes for shade, aesthetics, and habitat; and suggestions to minimize or eliminate the risk of 

flammability of nonvegetative sources of combustion such as woodpiles, propane tanks, decks, and 

outdoor lawn furniture. 

(f) As used in this section, “person” means a private individual, organization, partnership, limited liability 

company, or corporation. 

(Amended by Stats. 2009, Ch. 208, Sec. 4. Effective January 1, 2010.) 
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EXHIBIT 2 

 

WILDFIRE PARTNERS 

The description of the Wildfire Partners program below is taken directly from their website qhich can be 

accessed at:  http://www.wildfirepartners.org/our-program/ 

 

OUR PROGRAM 

Wildfire Partners is a mitigation program to help homeowners prepare for wildfire. This program is 

funded by Boulder County, a $1.5 million grant from the Colorado Department of Natural Resources and 

a $1.125 million grant from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 

Wildfire Partners assists all Boulder County mountain and foothills homeowners-whether you own a 

new home or an old home, whether or not you have performed mitigation in the past, and whether or 

not you have had difficulty obtaining insurance or selling your home. Wildfire Partners is a nationally 

recognized model for wildfire mitigation that is incorporated into Boulder County's building code. 

Why You Should Apply 

It is your responsibility to mitigate your home and property in advance of future wildfires. However, you 

don't have to take on this important task by yourself. Wildfire Partners is here to help you. We offer 

motivated homeowners the following benefits: 

An individual, on-site, wildfire home assessment-If you are accepted into Wildfire Partners, you will 

actively participate in your comprehensive assessment with a Wildfire Mitigation Specialist. Together, 

one of your tasks will be to examine the trees and other vegetation in your defensible space zones. The 

specialist will mark select vegetation with blue paint for removal according to Colorado State Forest 

Service standards. Valued at $250, the assessment takes 2-4 hours to complete and, in 2017, is provided 

at a charge of $100. 

A customized report that identifies the weak links in your home's defenses-This report will specify 

precisely what actions you should take to reduce your vulnerability to wildfire. It will include your 

comprehensive Mitigation To Do List, annotated photos of your vulnerabilities, and additional 

information on wildfire mitigation and preparedness.  (See sample reports located on this websites 

Homeowner Help section.) 

Financial awards to subsidize the cost of hiring a 2017 Wildfire Partners Forestry Contractor- Financial 

assistance is available to homeowners who choose to hire 2017 Wildfire Partners Forestry Contractor. 

Wildfire Partners will pay 50% (or $2,500, whichever is less) of these forestry costs. Wildfire Partners 

does not reimburse participants for any mitigation work they perform or any mitigation costs they pay 

themselves. Wildfire Partners does not pay for any mitigation work other than subsidizing the cost of 

http://www.wildfirepartners.org/our-program/
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hiring a 2017 Wildfire Partners Forestry Contractor.  Additional financial assistance is available to 

participants with documented financial need. 

Free access to Wildfire Partners Phone Advisors- Advisors are available from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday-

Friday, to assist participants. Our phone number is (303) 441-1420 and our email is 

info@wildfirepartners.org. 

A Wildfire Partners Certificate, letter and yard sign stating that you have mitigated your home- After 

you (or your forestry contractor) successfully complete your Mitigation To Do List, we will return for 

your final inspection. After passing the inspection, you will receive your certificate and letter that you 

can send to your insurance company. Allstate and USAA Insurance recognize this certificate as proof of 

proper mitigation. State Farm recognizes this certificate for renewal business. We are not aware of any 

insurance company who has denied coverage for a Wildfire Partners certified home. The certificate is 

transferable and can be uploaded to your MLS listing to help you sell your home (the new owner just 

needs to participate in a free educational site visit.) 
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EXHIBIT 3  

LEGISLATIVE PROPOSAL 

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: 

SECTION 1, Section 675.3 is added to the Insurance Code, to read: 

675.3. (a) An insurer admitted to transact fire insurance, as defined in Section 102, shall not refuse to 

offer, issue, or renew a policy of residential property insurance, as defined in Section 10087, for reasons 

relating to the risk of fire loss on a property located within a state responsibility area, as defined in 

Section 4102 of the Public 'Resources Code, or a very high fire hazard severity zone, as defined in 

Section 51177 of the Government Code, if the property meets the criteria described in subdivision (b). 

(b) A property is eligible for coverage pursuant to subdivision (a) if the applicant or insured and the 

property meet both of the following criteria: 

(1)The applicant or insured provides certification that the property complies with the requirements of 

Section 4291 of the Public Resources Code. The certification required by this section may be issued by 

either of the following: 

(A)A not-for-profit wildfire mitigation program designated to inspect properties and issue certifications 

by the commissioner and the Director of Forestry and Fire Protection. 

(B)A local or state fire official. 

(2)The property meets other underwriting guidelines relating to the peril of fire that have .a substantial 

relationship to the risk of fire loss and that are approved by the commissioner. 


